The Distortions

Publication date: March 1st 2022

Pre-order from the publisher here.

Winner of the 2020 Orison Book Fiction Prize, selected by Samrat Upadhyay.

Upadhyay writes: “The Distortions takes us deep into the transgenerational trauma of the Croatian-Serbian war, but it does so with skill and nuance that make each story shine as a well-crafted gem. The characters in this collection feel real, and their personal urgencies—loyalty, migration, family, identity—pierce through to illuminate the larger history of ethnic cleansing that terrorized the Balkans in the ’90s. This book is a perfect example of how art can be a vehicle for remembrance, understanding, and most importantly, healing.”

“The remarkable Christopher Linforth is a storyteller at the top of his game, writing about shattered lives and broken dreams, about hopeless love and grieving families. He lets the stories unfold quietly and understands that nothing is as it seems, that the apparent plot is not the plot, and that every character possesses a concealed nobility. Here are twelve unnerving, courageous, and luminous stories to savor and to celebrate. You’re not going to read many collections as powerful, as honest, and as compassionate as The Distortions. Yes, it’s that good, and you’re going to thank me for telling you to buy this book of Chekhovian gems.”

—John Dufresne, I Don’t Like Where This Is Going

“In illuminating and perceptive prose, The Distortions bears witness to the haunt of postwar Croatia. These deeply felt stories illustrate the dilemma of a generation once removed from trauma, living amid the ghosts of war and tasked with the impossible—yet urgent—project of memorialization. Christopher Linforth is a captivating writer, attuned to both a broad view of history and the quieter intimacies of art, love, and language that make intergenerational reconciliation possible.”

— Kate McQuade, author of Tell Me Who We Were

Book description: In The Distortions we glimpse a pageant of characters struggling to understand their lives after the dissolution of Yugoslavia. Scarred by the last major war fought on European soil, the women and men of these stories question what such a violent past can mean in comfortable, capitalistic modern Europe. From London and Brooklyn and Norway, to the Blue Grotto of Biševo and the war-torn fields of Slavonia, this collection blends Yugoslavian and American stories of great emotional and geographical amplitude.

For foreign rights contact the publisher, Luke Hankins, at orisonbooksonline [at]